For most homes, I’d start with the EMPORIA Pro 48A for its higher-power charging and PowerSmart features; the EVIQO 40A plug-in is a strong fit for a standard 14-50 outlet, while the Grizzl-E Classic favors straightforward, durable charging. The right Level 2 EV charger for home depends on more than advertised amperage: your electrical capacity, outlet or hardwired setup, vehicle connector, and appetite for app controls all matter. Higher-amperage models may charge faster, but they can call for a larger circuit and professional installation. Plug-in units are easier to move or replace, while hardwired chargers can better suit a permanent setup. Read on for the full breakdown of all 15 options and the tradeoffs that separate them.
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Key Takeaways
- The EMPORIA Pro 48A leads for buyers seeking higher-power smart charging, while its hardwired installation and electrical requirements make it less plug-and-play than 40A units.
- Plug type shapes the shortlist: several options use a NEMA 14-50 plug, while the Tesla and ChargePoint hardwired NACS models target compatible vehicles and setups.
- A 48A rating is not automatically faster at home. The home circuit and vehicle’s onboard charger set practical limits, so some buyers may gain little from the higher-amperage models.
- Portable 32A and 40A chargers trade maximum output for flexibility; EVDANCE and AIMILER offer portable formats, while hardwired picks are intended for a fixed location.
- Smart features vary across the lineup. Wi-Fi and app controls appear on several plug-in choices, but buyers prioritizing simpler operation may prefer a more basic unit such as the Grizzl-E Classic.
| level 2 ev chargers for home | Cable length | Voltage | Connector | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 48A | 25 ft | 240V | — | — |
| Level 2 EV Charger | 25 ft | 240V | SAE J1772 | 3 years |
| AIMILER Level 2 Electric Vehic | 25 ft | — | J1772 | — |
| EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger | 25 ft | — | J1772 | 3 years |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | — | — | NACS (Tesla) | 3 years |
| EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40A | 25 ft | 240V | — | — |
| Level 2 EV Charger | 25 ft | 240V | SAE J1772 | — |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | 25 ft | 240V | J1772 | 3 years |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | 25 ft | 240V | J1772 | 3 years |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | — | — | J1772 | 3 years parts |
| Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Cha | 25ft | 240V | — | — |
| Rippleon Level 2 EV Charger | 25ft | 240V | J1772 with NACS adapter | 3 years |
| Grizzl-E Classic Level 2 240V | 24ft | 240V | — | — |
| EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger | 25ft | 240V | — | 1 year |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | — | — | J1772 | 3 years |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall EV Charger
I’d put this hardwired charger near the top for households whose current or next EV has a NACS port. Its 48A output and 25-foot cable give owners room to park flexibly, while Wi-Fi app control adds remote management without relying on a plug-in outlet. Compared with the ChargePoint HomeFlex Hardwired NACS, this model specifies IP66 / NEMA 4 weather protection and includes a glow-in-the-dark holster, useful for an outdoor parking spot after dark. The tradeoff is installation: a licensed electrician must hardwire it, so it is less convenient to relocate than the plug-in IYILO 40A. Non-Tesla J1772 vehicles need a separate adapter, and the charger’s strongest fit is still a home built around NACS rather than a mixed fleet.
Pros:- 48A output with a 25-foot charging cable
- NACS connector works with Tesla and other NACS-port EVs
- IP66 / NEMA 4 protection suits indoor or outdoor installation
- Wi-Fi app control and glow-in-the-dark holster
Cons:- Hardwired installation requires a licensed electrician
- NACS-to-J1772 adapter is not included for J1772 vehicles
- Permanent mounting makes it less portable than plug-in options
Best for: Households with a Tesla or another NACS-port EV that want a weather-protected, high-output charger permanently mounted indoors or outdoors.
Not ideal for: Drivers with J1772-only vehicles who want to charge without buying an adapter, or renters who need a plug-in charger they can move.
- Amperage:48A
- Voltage:240V
- Cable length:25 ft
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi (2.4GHz)
- Weather protection:IP66 / NEMA 4
- Installation:Hardwired
- Compatibility:Tesla and other EVs with NACS ports; adapter required for J1772 vehicles
- Certifications:UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star
Our verdict“Choose this for a permanent, weather-protected NACS charging setup; skip it if you need plug-in flexibility or a J1772 connector.”
Level 2 EV Charger, 40Amp/9.6KW/240V, NEMA 14-50P, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz)
The IYILO makes sense for buyers who want 40A charging and app controls without committing to a hardwired unit. Its NEMA 14-50P plug can simplify setup when a suitable outlet and circuit are already available, while the 25-foot cable gives more parking reach than a short lead. Compared with the AIMILER 32A, IYILO offers higher listed output and a three-year warranty; compared with the EMPORIA Pro 48A, it gives up peak charging power and load-balancing features in exchange for a plug-in format. The tradeoff is that the outlet must be on an appropriate circuit—a 50A breaker is specified—and its Wi-Fi supports only 2.4 GHz. Tesla owners also need a separate adapter, so this is best suited to J1772 households seeking a practical smart home charger.
Pros:- 40A output and 9.6 kW listed power
- NEMA 14-50P connection can simplify installation when a suitable outlet is available
- App control and energy-management features
- UL, ETL, and Energy Star certifications
Cons:- Requires a suitable circuit with a 50A breaker
- Wi-Fi supports 2.4 GHz only
- Tesla adapter is not included
Best for: J1772 EV owners with a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet who want app-managed charging and more output than a 32A portable unit.
Not ideal for: Drivers without a compatible outlet or circuit, Tesla owners who do not want to source an adapter, and homes that require 48A charging or load balancing.
- Power:9.6 kW
- Voltage:240V
- Current:40A
- Connector:SAE J1772
- Plug:NEMA 14-50P
- Cable length:25 ft
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick the IYILO for smart 40A charging from an existing suitable outlet, but choose a 48A hardwired model if maximum output is the priority.”
AIMILER Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger with Wi-Fi App, 32A, 25ft Cable, ETL Certified, 220V-240V, NEMA 14-50P Plug, J1772 Connector, Portable Home Charging Station
AIMILER is the most approachable fit here for buyers who want a portable, plug-in J1772 charger rather than a permanent high-output installation. At 32A, it is less powerful than the IYILO 40A and EMPORIA Pro 48A, but adjustable current can help owners match charging to their available circuit. Its 25-foot cable and NEMA 14-50P plug also make it easier to move or store than either hardwired NACS option. Wi-Fi app control provides remote monitoring, though reports of connectivity problems make it a less dependable choice for anyone who expects smart features to be central to daily use. The J1772 connector suits many North American EVs and PHEVs, but Tesla drivers need an adapter. I’d choose it for flexibility, not for the fastest charging or most polished app experience.
Pros:- Portable NEMA 14-50P design
- Adjustable 32A current for matching a suitable circuit
- 25-foot cable offers useful parking reach
- ETL and FCC certification
Cons:- 32A output is lower than the IYILO 40A and EMPORIA Pro 48A
- Some users report app connectivity issues
- Tesla vehicles require an adapter
Best for: J1772 EV and PHEV owners who need a portable 32A charger, adjustable current, and a long cable for a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet.
Not ideal for: Drivers who need the higher output of a 40A or 48A unit, rely on consistent app connectivity, or own a Tesla without an adapter.
- Output voltage:240V
- Amperage:32A
- Connector:J1772
- Plug:NEMA 14-50P
- Cable length:25 ft
- Certification:ETL, FCC
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi app control
Our verdict“Choose AIMILER when portability and adjustable 32A charging matter more than top-end charging speed or dependable app connectivity.”
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 Amp Fast Home Charging Station with J1772 Connector and 25′ Cable
The EMPORIA Pro is the strongest fit for a J1772 household that wants 48A output plus help managing home electrical load. Its PowerSmart feature and included Vue device set it apart from simpler chargers such as the AIMILER 32A, which offers portability but not the same listed load-balancing approach. App control and energy monitoring can give homeowners a clearer view of charging use, while the option for hardwire or NEMA-plug installation adds flexibility during setup. The tradeoff is that the highest output and load-management benefits call for careful electrical planning and professional installation; those seeking a basic plug-in charger may find the IYILO 40A easier to match to an existing outlet. EMPORIA’s stated outdoor resistance is useful, though homes in severe weather may need extra protection. This is a more feature-rich choice, not the simplest one.
Pros:- 48A output for higher-capacity home charging
- PowerSmart load-balancing technology
- App control and real-time energy monitoring with included Vue device
- Hardwire or NEMA-plug installation options
Cons:- Professional installation is recommended for the setup
- Higher-output operation can require more involved electrical planning
- May need additional protection in extreme outdoor conditions
Best for: J1772 EV owners with higher charging needs who want load management, energy monitoring, and a flexible installation path.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a lightweight portable unit, a simple lower-output setup, or an NACS connector without an adapter.
- Input voltage:240V
- Amperage:48A
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Installation:Hardwired or NEMA plug
- Load management:PowerSmart
- Energy monitoring:Real-time monitoring with included Vue device
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the EMPORIA Pro if load management and energy monitoring matter alongside 48A J1772 charging.”
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired NACS Charging Station – Tesla Compatible, Fast Charge Solution for Electric Vehicles
This HomeFlex is a good match for Tesla owners who want a hardwired NACS charger with remote control through the ChargePoint app. Its stated charging rate of up to 45 miles of range per hour makes it a strong home option, though actual results depend on the vehicle and electrical setup. Compared with the Tesla Level 2 Charger 48A, ChargePoint emphasizes its app ecosystem and UL-certified, indoor/outdoor design, while the Tesla-branded alternative lists 48A output, a 25-foot cable, and IP66 / NEMA 4 protection. The available specs here do not list an amperage or cable length, which makes direct installation planning harder. Like the Tesla charger, this unit needs professional hardwiring; its NACS connector also makes it a narrower fit for J1772-only households unless they have an adapter.
Pros:- NACS connector designed for Tesla vehicles
- Listed charging rate of up to 45 miles of range per hour
- ChargePoint app enables remote control and management
- UL-certified design for indoor or outdoor installation
Cons:- Hardwired installation requires professional electrical work
- Available product data does not specify amperage or cable length
- J1772 vehicles need an adapter
Best for: Tesla owners who prefer managing home charging through the ChargePoint app and want a permanently installed indoor or outdoor NACS unit.
Not ideal for: J1772-only households without an adapter, renters, and buyers who need confirmed amperage or cable-length specifications before planning installation.
- Output voltage:240V
- Input voltage:240V
- Connector:NACS (Tesla)
- Ports:1
- Installation:Hardwired
- Listed charging rate:Up to 45 miles of range per hour
- Certification:UL-certified
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this HomeFlex for hardwired NACS charging paired with ChargePoint app control, but confirm installation details before committing.”
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V, 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Station with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current and Delay for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs
The EVDANCE 40A suits drivers who want a plug-in charger they can also take on the road. Its NEMA 14-50P connection and 25-foot cable make it less tied to one parking spot than the hardwired EVIQO 48A, while adjustable current lets you dial charging back to fit a circuit or charging schedule. The IP66 rating and clear TFT display add practical support for outdoor setups and at-a-glance checks. The tradeoff is speed: its 9.6kW ceiling is below the 11.5kW offered by the hardwired IYILO 48A. Setup may also take more attention than a basic plug-in unit, and Tesla drivers need an adapter. This makes the most sense when portability and current flexibility matter more than maximum output.
Pros:- Plug-in NEMA 14-50 design is easier to relocate than a hardwired station.
- Adjustable 10A–40A current supports different circuit capacities and charging needs.
- IP66 weather resistance suits many outdoor charging locations.
- 25-foot cable and TFT display offer flexible placement and clear status information.
Cons:- Maximum 9.6kW output is lower than the 11.5kW IYILO and EVIQO 48A options.
- Tesla vehicles require a separate adapter.
- Setup may feel complex for buyers seeking a simple, no-adjustment charger.
Best for: J1772 EV owners who have a NEMA 14-50 outlet and want one charger for home and occasional travel.
Not ideal for: Drivers seeking the highest available home charging output or Tesla owners who want a charger that connects without a separate adapter.
- Voltage:240V
- Adjustable current:10A–40A
- Maximum power:9,600W
- Cable length:25 ft
- Plug:NEMA 14-50P
- Connector compatibility:J1772
- Weather resistance:IP66
- Display:2.4-inch TFT
Our verdict“Choose this EVDANCE if you want a weather-resistant, portable 40A charger and can trade some speed for flexibility.”
Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V, UL 2594, ETL & Energy Star
The IYILO is the speed-focused choice here: 48A and 11.5kW put it ahead of the plug-in EVDANCE 40A when a vehicle and home electrical system can use the extra output. Its app adds scheduling and energy tracking, while power sharing and dynamic load balancing can help households coordinate charging loads. The UL 2594, ETL, and Energy Star certifications also distinguish it from options whose supplied data lists fewer certifications. That capability comes with a firm installation tradeoff: this is a hardwired unit, so it needs a licensed electrician and is not a portable choice. App connectivity is limited to 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, and Tesla owners need an adapter. I’d shortlist it for a dedicated home setup where output and load management matter more than plug-in convenience.
Pros:- 48A, 11.5kW output exceeds the 40A EVDANCE plug-in charger’s listed capacity.
- App supports charging schedules and energy tracking.
- Power sharing and dynamic load balancing suit homes with multiple electrical loads.
- UL 2594, ETL, and Energy Star certifications are specified.
Cons:- Hardwired installation requires a licensed electrician and limits portability.
- Wi-Fi support is restricted to 2.4GHz.
- Tesla adapter is not included.
Best for: Households with a compatible electrical supply, a regular parking space, and a need for higher charging output or load sharing.
Not ideal for: Renters, drivers who need a portable plug-in charger, or homes that rely on 5GHz-only Wi-Fi.
- Charging power:11.5kW
- Current:48A
- Voltage:240V
- Cable length:25 ft
- Connector:SAE J1772
- Certifications:UL 2594, ETL, Energy Star
- Weight:13.45 lb
- Dimensions:9.8 × 8.7 × 4.4 in
Our verdict“Pick the IYILO if you want 48A hardwired charging with app and load-management features and are prepared for professional installation.”
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 – 240V Wall Charging Station
This EVIQO combines a straightforward NEMA 14-50 plug-in setup with Wi-Fi scheduling, making it a useful middle ground between basic portable charging and a hardwired station. Its 40A output matches the EVDANCE 40A, but the remote control and scheduling add convenience for drivers who want to manage charging from an app. The 25-foot cable helps when the outlet and charge port are not close together, and the glow-in-the-dark holster is a practical touch for nighttime parking. Compared with the EVIQO 48A hardwired model, this one is easier to connect to an existing suitable outlet but gives up maximum output. It still depends on a dedicated NEMA 14-50 circuit, and Wi-Fi performance depends on signal strength where the charger is mounted.
Pros:- NEMA 14-50 plug avoids the hardwired installation required by the EVIQO 48A model.
- Wi-Fi app supports remote control and charging schedules.
- 25-foot cable gives more reach around a garage or driveway.
- Weatherproof design and glow-in-the-dark holster support outdoor and nighttime use.
Cons:- Requires a dedicated NEMA 14-50 outlet.
- 40A output is below the EVIQO 48A hardwired model.
- App features depend on a reliable 2.4GHz Wi-Fi signal.
Best for: J1772 EV owners with a dedicated NEMA 14-50 outlet who want app scheduling without hardwiring a charger.
Not ideal for: Drivers without a suitable 240V outlet, or those who need 48A charging and are willing to arrange hardwired installation.
- Current:40A
- Voltage:240V
- Connector:J1772
- Plug:NEMA 14-50
- Cable length:25 ft
- Wi-Fi:2.4GHz
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this EVIQO for app-managed 40A charging when your home already has a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet.”
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
For a permanent outdoor installation, this EVIQO pairs 48A output with an IP66 / NEMA 4 weather rating and a 25-foot cable. That makes it a stronger fit for a driveway or exposed mounting spot than the plug-in EVIQO 40A, while its J1772 connector serves most non-Tesla EVs and plug-in hybrids without an adapter. Wi-Fi app control covers remote start, stopping, and scheduling, and the listed UL, ETL, FCC, and Energy Star certifications provide more detail than the EVDANCE 40A listing. The cost of this more permanent setup is professional hardwiring: there is no plug-in option for moving it or using an existing outlet. Tesla drivers also need an adapter, and the 2.4GHz Wi-Fi requirement may not suit every network.
Pros:- 48A maximum current offers more output than the plug-in EVIQO 40A.
- IP66 / NEMA 4 weather protection suits indoor or outdoor installation.
- App provides remote start, stop, and scheduling.
- UL, ETL, FCC, and Energy Star certifications are listed.
Cons:- Hardwired-only design requires professional installation and cannot be moved like a plug-in unit.
- Tesla vehicles require an adapter.
- Wi-Fi compatibility is limited to 2.4GHz.
Best for: Homeowners planning a permanent, weather-exposed charging station for a J1772 EV and able to arrange electrician installation.
Not ideal for: Renters, drivers who need portability or a NEMA 14-50 plug, and Tesla owners seeking a direct connector fit.
- Connector:J1772
- Maximum current:48A
- Voltage:240V
- Cable length:25 ft
- Wi-Fi:2.4GHz
- Certifications:UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this EVIQO for a permanent 48A J1772 installation where outdoor protection matters more than plug-in flexibility.”
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 NEMA 14-50 Plug
The ChargePoint HomeFlex is the lineup’s app-centered plug-in option, pairing a NEMA 14-50 connection with ChargePoint app control and a stated output of up to 45 miles of range per hour. That makes it a natural fit for drivers who want an established charging app and a unit that can connect to a suitable outlet, rather than the hardwired installation required by the IYILO and EVIQO 48A models. The provided specs list 50A, but charging speed still depends on the home circuit and vehicle; buyers should confirm installation requirements before planning around maximum output. It is J1772, so Tesla owners need an adapter. Compared with the EVIQO 40A, its key draw is the ChargePoint app ecosystem, while the product data gives fewer details about cable length and weather rating.
Pros:- NEMA 14-50 plug-in design avoids a hardwired-only connection.
- ChargePoint app supports smart charger management.
- Listed 50A specification and stated charging rate suit drivers seeking higher output.
- Specified for indoor or outdoor installation.
Cons:- Tesla vehicles require an adapter.
- Supplied product details do not specify cable length or a weather-protection rating.
- Maximum charging output depends on the home’s circuit and the vehicle’s charging capacity.
Best for: J1772 EV owners with a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet who want to manage home charging through the ChargePoint app.
Not ideal for: Tesla drivers who do not want a separate adapter, or buyers who need a clearly specified cable length and weather rating before choosing.
- Output voltage:240V
- Input voltage:240V
- Amperage:50A
- Connector:J1772
- Plug type:NEMA 14-50
- Ports:1
- Weight:13.8 lb
- Warranty:3 years parts
Our verdict“Choose the ChargePoint HomeFlex if you value its app and plug-in format and can verify that your outlet and vehicle support the intended charging rate.”
Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50P, 9.6kW, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth
This model suits buyers who want 40A charging without hardwiring, along with app-based scheduling and a 25-foot cable. Its NEMA 14-50P plug can make installation simpler than the hardwired Rippleon 48A or ChargePoint HomeFlex, though the outlet and circuit still need to support the charger’s output. The adjustable current gives households some flexibility to match charging to their electrical setup, while Wi-Fi and Bluetooth add remote control options. Compared with the Grizzl-E Classic, this charger puts more emphasis on connected features than on a straightforward, rugged design. The tradeoff is dependence on a phone connection for app functions, plus a separate Tesla adapter requirement. Buyers who want a basic charger without smart controls may find those features unnecessary.
Pros:- Up to 40A and 9.6kW output for faster home charging than lower-amperage options
- Wi-Fi and Bluetooth app controls support remote management and scheduling
- 25-foot cable offers reach across a garage or driveway
- Weatherproof design supports indoor and outdoor placement
Cons:- App features depend on Wi-Fi or Bluetooth connectivity
- Tesla adapter is not included
- Maximum output requires a suitable outlet and electrical circuit
Best for: EV owners with a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet who want 40A charging, remote scheduling, and a long cable for a home garage or outdoor parking spot.
Not ideal for: Drivers seeking a simple, app-free charger or Tesla owners who want a compatible connector included.
- Power:9.6kW
- Current:40A
- Voltage:240V
- Plug:NEMA 14-50P
- Cable length:25ft
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Certifications:UL 2594, CSA C22.2 No. 280, ETL, FCC
- Dimensions:12 x 7 x 3 inches
Our verdict“Choose this plug-in model if you want app controls and 40A charging without committing to a hardwired installation.”
Rippleon Level 2 EV Charger – Hardwired, 48Amp, 11.5KW, 240V, UL2594, ETL, FCC
The Rippleon is the high-output choice here: 48A and 11.5kW can deliver more charging power than the 40A Grizzl-E Classic or the plug-in EVDANCE 32A. That extra capacity can be useful for drivers with a vehicle able to accept higher AC charging rates and a home electrical setup that supports it. Rippleon also lists both hardwired and NEMA 14-50 installation, giving buyers more installation flexibility than a hardwired-only setup suggests, though the product title emphasizes hardwiring and professional installation is recommended. Its smart app and weatherproof construction suit a garage or outdoor location, but smart features require Wi-Fi. I would choose it over the ChargePoint HomeFlex when the listed 48A output and J1772 connector with NACS adapter fit the vehicle and installation plan; those seeking a simpler, lower-output plug-in charger should look elsewhere.
Pros:- Up to 48A and 11.5kW output, above the 40A options in this group
- Listed for hardwired or NEMA 14-50 installation
- Smart app supports remote management and scheduling
- Weatherproof design and a 25-foot cable suit varied home parking layouts
Cons:- Professional installation is recommended, especially for hardwired use
- Smart features require Wi-Fi
- Higher output may not benefit vehicles or electrical circuits that cannot support it
Best for: Owners of EVs that can use higher AC charging rates, with a compatible 240V circuit and room in the installation budget for an electrician.
Not ideal for: Renters or households without a suitable circuit who need a low-commitment plug-in setup or do not want Wi-Fi-dependent app features.
- Power:11.5kW
- Current:48A
- Voltage:240V
- Connector:J1772 with NACS adapter
- Cable length:25ft
- Installation:Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
- Certifications:UL 2594, ETL, FCC
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick Rippleon if your vehicle and home wiring can take advantage of 48A charging and you are prepared for a more involved installation.”
Grizzl-E Classic Level 2 240V / 40A Electric Vehicle Charger
The Grizzl-E Classic favors a tough, uncomplicated setup over the connected controls offered by the Upgraded 40 Amp charger and Rippleon. Its metal enclosure and IP67 weather resistance make it a practical pick for buyers who prioritize a durable home unit for garage or outdoor use. At up to 40A, it matches the Upgraded 40 Amp charger’s stated current, while its adjustable amperage can help accommodate a circuit with less capacity than the maximum requires. The 24-foot cable is nearly as long as the 25-foot leads on several rivals, but there is no smart app listed for scheduling or remote control. It is also relatively heavy at 16.61 pounds, and maximum output calls for a 50A circuit. I would favor it over app-focused models when toughness matters more than phone-based features.
Pros:- Metal enclosure and IP67 weather resistance suit demanding indoor or outdoor placement
- Adjustable output up to 40A provides charging flexibility
- 24-foot cable gives useful reach around a parking area
- UL certification and multiple safety protections are listed
Cons:- At 16.61 pounds, it is heavier than the ChargePoint HomeFlex listed here
- Maximum 40A output requires a 50A circuit
- Smart app controls are not listed
Best for: Drivers who want a durable, portable J1772 charger with adjustable current and do not need app control.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want remote scheduling, a lighter unit, or maximum 40A output without a suitable 50A circuit.
- Voltage:240V
- Maximum current:40A
- Cable length:24ft
- Plug:NEMA 14-50
- Enclosure:Metal
- Weather resistance:IP67
- Certification:UL Certified
- Item weight:16.61 pounds
Our verdict“Choose the Grizzl-E Classic for rugged, adjustable charging if you value a sturdy build more than app features.”
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Portable Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable
EVDANCE trades peak charging speed for portable flexibility and adjustable 16A–32A output. Its 7.68kW maximum is below the 40A Grizzl-E Classic and the 48A Rippleon, so it is a better match for drivers who do not need the highest home charging rate or who want to carry a charger between locations. The 25-foot cable, carrying case, and LED display make it easier to move and check charging information than the more rugged but heavier Grizzl-E Classic. The product description calls it waterproof, but also advises against direct sunlight or heavy rain, so I would not treat it as an unrestricted outdoor installation. Tesla owners need an adapter, and the listed one-year warranty is shorter than Rippleon’s three-year coverage.
Pros:- Adjustable 16A–32A output can match charging to available capacity
- 25-foot cable and carrying case support portable use
- LED display shows real-time charging information
- J1772 compatibility covers many North American EVs
Cons:- Maximum 7.68kW output is lower than the 40A and 48A alternatives
- Not recommended for direct sunlight or heavy rain
- Tesla adapter is required, and the listed warranty is one year
Best for: Drivers who want an adjustable, portable J1772 charger for a home garage and occasional travel between suitable outlets.
Not ideal for: Households seeking the fastest charging in this group, or buyers who need a charger intended for exposed, all-weather placement.
- Power:7.68kW
- Voltage:240V
- Amperage:16A–32A
- Cable length:25ft
- Plug:NEMA 14-50P
- Connector compatibility:J1772 EVs; Tesla requires an adapter
- Warranty:1 year
- Display:LED screen
Our verdict“Choose EVDANCE if portability and adjustable output matter more to you than faster charging or full outdoor exposure.”
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
ChargePoint HomeFlex is the premium-leaning hardwired choice for drivers who want a connected charger from an established charging brand and do not mind arranging professional installation. It offers up to 50A and lists charging speeds of up to 45 miles of range per hour, giving it a higher stated current than the 40A Grizzl-E Classic. Compared with Rippleon’s 48A model, HomeFlex has a slightly higher listed amperage and a three-year manufacturer warranty, while Rippleon offers both hardwired and NEMA 14-50 installation options. The Wi-Fi app controls support remote management, and its cold-resistant, weather-resistant design suits more than a climate-controlled garage. The drawbacks are a hardwired-only setup in this listing and J1772 compatibility, so Tesla drivers need an adapter. Wi-Fi is also needed for full smart functionality.
Pros:- Up to 50A output and listed charging speed of up to 45 miles of range per hour
- Wi-Fi and mobile app support remote control and management
- Weather-resistant and cold-resistant design for indoor or outdoor use
- Three-year manufacturer warranty
Cons:- Hardwired installation requires professional help for many households
- Full smart functionality depends on Wi-Fi
- J1772 connector requires an adapter for Tesla vehicles
Best for: Homeowners with a suitable electrical circuit who want a hardwired, app-connected J1772 charger and value a three-year manufacturer warranty.
Not ideal for: Renters, drivers who need a plug-in installation, or Tesla owners who want a NACS connector without an adapter.
- Output voltage:240V
- Input voltage:240V
- Amperage:50A
- Connector:J1772
- Installation:Hardwired
- Ports:1
- Dimensions:7.06 x 11.19 x 7.07 inches
- Item weight:13.8 pounds
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose HomeFlex if you want a high-output, app-connected hardwired charger and are comfortable planning a professional installation.”

How We Picked
I ranked these chargers by how well their listed features match real home-installation needs: output, plug or hardwired connection, vehicle connector, cable reach, smart controls, and stated safety or certification details. I gave more weight to a balanced setup than to the highest amperage alone, since a charger’s advertised output only helps when the home circuit and vehicle can support it. I also considered whether each product makes sense for a fixed garage, an existing 14-50 outlet, or a buyer who values portability.
The order reflects those differences rather than treating every charger as interchangeable. The EMPORIA Pro earns the lead for its 48A output and PowerSmart feature, while plug-in 40A models rank well for homes already equipped with a suitable outlet. Hardwired NACS units make more sense for compatible vehicles and permanent installations; portable 32A options suit buyers who value flexibility over peak output. Product listings do not provide equal detail on every point, so I avoid assuming features or performance that are not specified.
| level 2 ev chargers for home | Connector |
|---|---|
| Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 48A | — |
| Level 2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 |
| AIMILER Level 2 Electric Vehic | J1772 |
| EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger | J1772 |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | NACS (Tesla) |
| EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40A | — |
| Level 2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | J1772 |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | J1772 |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | J1772 |
| Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Cha | — |
| Rippleon Level 2 EV Charger | J1772 with NACS adapter |
| Grizzl-E Classic Level 2 240V | — |
| EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger | — |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | J1772 |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Level 2 Ev Chargers For Home
Before choosing among these models, match the charger to your home’s electrical setup and your daily charging routine. These decisions often matter more than a long feature list: the wrong connector, circuit assumption, or cable route can turn an otherwise suitable unit into a poor fit.
Match Amperage to Your Circuit and Vehicle
Charger amperage is only one part of charging speed. The home circuit must be sized for the charger’s continuous load, and the vehicle’s onboard charger may cap how much power it accepts. A 48A unit such as the EMPORIA Pro, EVIQO hardwired model, or Rippleon can be a sensible choice when the electrical setup supports it, but it may not charge your car faster than a lower-rated model if the car is the limit. Ask an electrician to confirm available capacity before buying rather than choosing an amperage based on a headline spec. If your needs are modest or your panel has limited spare capacity, a 32A or 40A option may be the more practical match. Avoid assuming that a plug-in unit can simply use any existing outlet without checking its rating and condition.
Choose Plug-In or Hardwired Installation
A NEMA 14-50 plug-in charger can be convenient when a properly installed, compatible outlet is already in place. It can also be easier to remove or take along if you move, though the outlet and circuit still need to match the charger’s requirements. Hardwired models suit a permanent installation and can support higher output, but they call for a fixed electrical connection and a qualified installation plan. A common mistake is comparing the charger’s purchase format without accounting for the work needed to create the outlet or hardwire connection. Before ordering, confirm the location, circuit, and installation approach with an electrician. The 40A plug-in and 48A hardwired models in this roundup illustrate how installation style and output often go together, but they are not interchangeable choices.
Check Connector Compatibility Before Comparing Features
Make the connector your first filter, not an afterthought. Most J1772 chargers in this list serve vehicles with a J1772 inlet, while the Tesla and ChargePoint hardwired NACS options are aimed at NACS-compatible vehicles. Some vehicles can use an adapter, but compatibility depends on the car and adapter, so confirm the manufacturer’s guidance rather than assuming every combination works. Also check whether you want one charger to serve more than one vehicle with different inlet types. An adapter may add convenience, yet it can add another item to store and manage. Once connector fit is settled, compare amperage, cable reach, and controls among the remaining candidates.
Measure Cable Reach and Plan the Charging Spot
A 25-foot cable appears on several portable and wall-mounted models here, but the stated length alone does not tell you whether it will reach your vehicle’s charge port. Map the path from the intended mounting point to each parking position, including the route around doors, shelves, and other obstacles. A longer reach can help when cars park in different orientations, while excess cable needs a safe place to hang so it does not become a trip hazard. Check where the connector sits on your vehicle and whether the cable can reach without pulling tight. Buyers with two parking spaces should plan for both cars, not just the one normally parked closest to the wall. A little measuring before purchase can prevent the need to relocate the charger later.
Decide Whether Smart Controls Solve a Real Need
Wi-Fi apps, scheduling, and adjustable current can make home charging easier to manage, especially if you want to set charging times or monitor sessions remotely. They are less valuable if you mainly plug in overnight and do not need remote access. Check whether the charger’s smart features depend on a reliable Wi-Fi signal at the installation point; a weak garage connection can limit the usefulness of app controls. Also compare the car’s own charging schedule with the charger’s controls, since overlapping settings can make a session behave unexpectedly. Models with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or app functions may provide extra flexibility, but they add setup and software considerations. Pick those features for a specific routine, not simply because they appear on a spec sheet.
Weigh Portability Against a Permanent Setup
Portable chargers such as the AIMILER and EVDANCE plug-in models can suit renters, owners who may move, or households that want to store the unit when it is not in use. Their flexibility can come with a lower maximum output than some hardwired 48A choices, so decide whether moving the charger matters more than potential charging speed. A permanent wall-mounted installation can keep the cable organized and ready, but it makes the unit less convenient to relocate. Consider how often you travel with charging equipment and whether the charger will stay at home for years. Do not confuse portable with universally compatible: plug type, circuit rating, and vehicle connector still need to line up. The best format is the one that fits your parking and housing situation, not the one with the most versatile-sounding label.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a 48A home charger charge my EV faster than a 40A model?
Only if both your electrical circuit and your vehicle can accept the higher output. A car with a lower-capacity onboard charger may draw the same power from a 48A unit as it would from a 40A unit. The circuit also needs to be designed for the charger’s required load, which may involve electrical work. Compare your vehicle’s charging limit with the charger rating, then ask an electrician to check your home capacity. If either limit is below 48A, a lower-rated charger may deliver similar practical results.
Can I plug a 14-50 charger into an outlet I already have?
Possibly, but the outlet’s presence does not by itself confirm that it is suitable for EV charging. Have an electrician verify the outlet, wiring, breaker, and circuit rating against the specific charger’s requirements. Older or heavily used outlets may need attention before regular charging. Check whether the charger’s current setting is appropriate for that circuit and follow its installation instructions. If the existing setup does not meet the requirements, a new dedicated circuit or a hardwired model may be a better plan.
Should I choose a J1772 charger or an NACS charger?
Start with the inlet on your vehicle and the connector supported by the charger. This roundup includes J1772 choices for compatible vehicles and NACS models intended for NACS-compatible vehicles. Some owners can use an approved adapter, but adapter compatibility and charging behavior depend on the vehicle and equipment. If more than one EV will use the charger, check both cars’ connector needs before settling on a single connector type. Verify current compatibility guidance from your vehicle maker rather than relying on a general assumption.
Is a hardwired charger worth choosing over a plug-in model?
A hardwired charger can make sense for a permanent location or when you want a setup designed around higher output, provided your home wiring supports it. A plug-in model may be easier to remove or relocate and can suit a home with an existing compatible 14-50 outlet. The total installation plan matters: adding a new outlet can also require electrical work, so plug-in does not always mean installation-free. Compare the charger’s output and connection type with the electrician’s recommended setup. Choose based on your home, not on a blanket rule that one format is always better.
Do I need Wi-Fi and an app for a home EV charger?
No; many drivers can charge reliably without using app controls, especially if they plug in at home on a consistent schedule. Wi-Fi features can help when you want remote monitoring, scheduled charging, or adjustable current, but they rely on a usable connection where the charger is installed. Your vehicle may already offer scheduling, so check whether charger-level controls add a function you will actually use. If garage Wi-Fi is weak, smart features may be less convenient than they sound. Prioritize dependable compatibility and installation fit before paying attention to app features.
Conclusion
For a balanced combination of higher output and smart controls, my best overall pick is the EMPORIA Pro 48A, provided your circuit and vehicle can support it. If you already have a suitable 14-50 outlet, the EVIQO 40A plug-in is my practical value choice; the AIMILER or EVDANCE 32A portable models make more sense when flexibility matters more than maximum output. Buyers who want a straightforward charging setup can look at the Grizzl-E Classic, while shoppers with a compatible NACS vehicle and a permanent installation plan should compare the Tesla and ChargePoint hardwired NACS options. For a premium, higher-output setup, I’d focus on the EMPORIA Pro, EVIQO 48A, or ChargePoint hardwired 50A, then choose based on connector and electrical fit. Confirm circuit capacity, connector compatibility, and cable reach before ordering; those details will determine which charger is right for your home.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















