AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Formlabs’ product page presents the Studio 1 as a $699 resin printer and lists a range of Alpha resins made for the machine. The page describes print speeds and material properties, but the supplied information does not confirm a launch date, what is included in the $699 price, or independent testing of the performance claims.

Formlabs is listing its Studio 1 resin printer at $699, alongside a family of printer-specific Alpha resins aimed at model-making, prototyping and other small-part applications. The product information describes the machine as an SLA printer and gives material-specific print speeds and mechanical properties, but does not establish when the printer went on sale or what accessories are included at the listed price.

The product page lists five Alpha resin types in the supplied material: Model, Fast, Grey, Clear and Black. Formlabs says the resins are designed for use only with the Studio 1 and lists a compatible Form Studio Resin Tank and standard or flex build platform. These restrictions make the printer and material line a linked purchase rather than a broadly interchangeable resin setup, according to the listing.

Formlabs describes Alpha Fast Resin as the speed-focused option, advertising print speeds of up to 130 millimeters per hour. Its technical table gives an average print speed of 90 mm/h and a primary layer height of 150 micrometers. The company says the resin can be used for rapid prototypes, jigs and fixtures, and claims an entire Studio 1 build volume can be printed in less than two hours. The page does not specify the conditions behind that full-volume estimate.

The other listed materials prioritize different finishes and uses. Alpha Model Resin is described as suited to detailed miniatures and sculptures, with a 50-micrometer primary layer height and 13 mm/h average speed. Grey and Clear are listed at 40 mm/h average speed and 100-micrometer primary layer height; Formlabs presents Grey for concept models and functional prototypes and Clear for transparent parts. The supplied listing also shows material prices, including a promotional $29 price for some resins, but does not clearly establish whether those prices are temporary, how long an offer lasts, or whether they apply in every market.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Current product-page listing; announcem…
The developmentFormlabs’ product listing describes the Studio 1 resin printer at $699 alongside printer-specific Alpha resin materials.

A Printer Tied to Its Resin Line

The listed price for the Studio 1 is $699. Formlabs also lists a range of printer-specific resins, indicating that material purchases are part of the system described on the product page. Resin, replacement tanks, build platforms and any required post-processing equipment may add to the initial outlay; the source material does not provide a full operating-cost estimate.

Formlabs describes the listed materials for different workflows, including Model resin for detailed models and Fast resin for rapid iteration. These are manufacturer descriptions and specifications, not independent comparisons. Results may vary with geometry, settings, preparation and post-processing, details not supplied in the listing excerpt.

Formlabs says Alpha resins are the first 3D-printing materials certified to UL GREENGUARD Gold when printed on the Studio 1 and used with a VOC Extractor. The statement is conditional on that printer-and-extractor setup. It does not establish certification for other configurations or indicate that resin handling and post-processing require no precautions.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

What the Product Listing Specifies

The supplied Formlabs product page combines the printer’s $699 listed price with descriptions and technical tables for compatible resin materials. It identifies the Studio 1’s print technology as SLA and names its compatible tank and two build-platform options. It does not provide a detailed printer specification sheet in the supplied material, such as build volume, resolution, connectivity, dimensions or setup requirements.

The resin tables report figures including tensile strength, elongation at break and heat-deflection temperature. For example, Formlabs lists Fast Resin at 46 MPa tensile strength and 34% elongation at break, while Model Resin is listed at 40 MPa and 24%, respectively. These are published material specifications; the source does not describe a test method, provide third-party verification or compare the figures against named competing products. The page’s claims that some resins exceed comparable ABS-like materials should be treated as Formlabs’ characterization.

“print speeds up to 130 mm/h”

— Formlabs, product-page description of Alpha Fast Resin

Price, Availability and Test Conditions

The supplied source does not state when the Studio 1 was announced or became available, whether $699 is a launch price or an ongoing list price, or which components come in the printer package. Shipping costs, regional pricing, warranty terms and the cost of the VOC Extractor are also not provided. The resin page includes what appear to be reduced prices and a checkout discount message, but the excerpt does not give enough detail to determine the offer’s duration or geographic scope.

Several performance figures need more context before buyers can compare them directly with other machines. The page does not specify the conditions behind the advertised maximum speed or the full-build-under-two-hours estimate, and it does not provide independent test results. The certification statement is attributed to Formlabs and explicitly depends on using a VOC Extractor; the supplied material does not identify the certification record or explain the exact scope of the certification.

It is also unclear from the excerpt whether all five Alpha resins are immediately available, whether the listed prices apply to all of them, or what cleaning and curing equipment is required. Those details could affect both the practical workflow and the printer’s total cost.

Details Buyers Still Need

Prospective buyers will need the complete Studio 1 specifications and purchase terms to evaluate the $699 listing, including package contents, build volume, warranty, shipping and regional availability. Formlabs’ full documentation would also clarify recommended settings and post-processing requirements for each resin, alongside the conditions used to measure print speed and mechanical properties.

Until those details are available, the product page establishes the listed price, printer-material compatibility and Formlabs’ stated material specifications, but not independent performance verification or the full cost of operating the system. Buyers comparing resin printers should treat the speed and certification statements as company claims and check the relevant conditions before purchase.

Key Questions

How much does the Formlabs Studio 1 cost?

The supplied Formlabs product listing shows the Studio 1 at $699. It does not state whether this is a launch price, whether regional pricing differs, or what accessories are included.

Which resins are listed for the Studio 1?

The supplied page describes Alpha Model, Fast, Grey, Clear and Black resins. Formlabs says the Alpha resins are supported only on the Studio 1 and lists a compatible resin tank and standard or flex build platform.

How fast can the Studio 1 print?

Formlabs advertises Alpha Fast Resin at up to 130 mm/h, while its technical table gives an average of 90 mm/h. The page also claims a full build volume can be printed in under two hours, but the supplied material does not provide the test conditions for that estimate.

What does the GREENGUARD Gold statement cover?

Formlabs says the Alpha resins are certified to UL GREENGUARD Gold when printed on the Studio 1 with a VOC Extractor. The statement is conditional; it does not describe certification for other printer setups.

Is the $699 price the full cost to use the printer?

The available listing does not establish the total cost. Resin prices are shown, but the supplied material does not detail package contents, required post-processing equipment, replacement supplies, shipping or other operating costs.

Source: formlabs.com

You May Also Like

Why Your Smartphone’S GPU Matters More Than the CPU In 2025

Because your smartphone’s GPU is now the key to immersive visuals and seamless AR experiences, understanding its importance will change how you see technology.

Spatial Focus Room: Make Distraction Impossible

A new deep-work app for Apple Vision Pro transforms focus by removing distractions physically, offering immersive environments for productivity.

15 Portable Power Stations To Weigh For Camping And Emergency Backup In 2027

A buyer’s guide compares 15 portable power stations for camping and backup, while noting that current model specifications and testing need verification.

CMMC Readiness And Compliance Automation For DIB Teams

A proposed CMMC Level 2 readiness tool would help small defense contractors prepare documentation, but demand and results remain unverified.