The best cordless drill combo kits pair a drill with tools you’ll actually use, while keeping battery compatibility and kit size in view. I’d put the DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Kit first for a useful spread of core tools without stepping up to a 10-tool set; the Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Kit stands out for buyers who want broader coverage, and the DEWALT XTREME 12V Kit suits work where a smaller, lighter setup matters. The main tradeoff is between a compact two-tool kit, a larger set with more capabilities, and the cost and storage that come with extra tools and batteries. Kit contents vary, so check which tools, battery capacities, and accessories are included rather than comparing tool counts alone. Read on for how I ranked all 11 kits and which type of buyer each suits best.
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The DEWALT 5-tool kit is my best overall balance: it offers more than a drill-and-impact pair without committing to the 10-tool kit’s larger footprint.
- More tools do not automatically mean better value. The Greenworks 6-tool and 8-tool kits make sense when their extra tools match planned work; otherwise, a smaller kit may be easier to store and use.
- Two-tool kits serve a different purpose from broad bundles. The CRAFTSMAN V20 and DEWALT DCK240C2 focus on the drill-and-impact-driver pairing many DIY jobs need.
- Voltage and size reflect different priorities. The DEWALT XTREME 12V kit favors a more compact setup, while 20V and 24V options offer a route into broader platform families.
- Compare battery details as carefully as tool count. The DEWALT XR kit includes two 4Ah batteries, while other listed kits specify two batteries without the same capacity details in their names.
| DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo Kit, 10 Tool Cordless Set with 2 Batteries, Charger, and Bags | ![]() | Best for a Broad Jobsite Setup | Battery platform: DEWALT 20V MAX | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, 2 Batteries, Charger | ![]() | Best for Heavy Fastening on the V20 Platform | Battery platform: CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Greenworks 24V (6-Tool) Combo Kit with Batteries and Charger | ![]() | Best Mid-Size Multi-Tool Kit | Battery platform: Greenworks 24V | Included tools: Drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, flashlight | Battery capacities: 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Greenworks 24V Cordless Brushless Drill/Impact Driver Combo Kit | ![]() | Best Compact Drill-and-Driver Pair | Battery platform: Greenworks 24V | Drill/driver chuck: 1/2 inch | Impact driver chuck: 1/4 inch | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Greenworks 24V (8-Tool) Combo Kit with Batteries and Charger | ![]() | Best for a One-Kit Workshop Buildout | Battery platform: Greenworks 24V | Number of tools: 8 | Included tools: Drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, jigsaw, multi-tool, sander, flashlight | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Power Tools Combo Kit (DCK540D1) | ![]() | Best for Expanding Beyond Drilling | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Batteries listed: 1 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2) | ![]() | Best for Compact Everyday Drilling and Driving | Model: DCK240C2 | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver (DCK277D2) | ![]() | Best Two-Battery Brushless Kit | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Number of batteries: 2 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill Combo Kit (DCK221F2) | ![]() | Best Compact 12V Pick | Voltage: 12 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Batteries listed: 1 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit, Includes 2 x 4ah Batteries and Charger | ![]() | Best for Heavy-Duty Drilling and Fastening | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Number of batteries: 2 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Set and Impact Driver with 2Ah Battery and Charger | ![]() | Best for Organized, Occasional Projects | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Batteries included: 1 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| cordless drill combo kit | Voltage | Battery type |
|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Comb | 20 volts | Lithium-ion |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Dri | 20 volts | Lithium-ion |
| Greenworks 24V | — | — |
| Greenworks 24V Cordless Brushl | — | — |
| Greenworks 24V | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Power To | 20 volts | Lithium-ion |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20 volts | Lithium-ion |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac | 20 volts | Lithium-ion |
| DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Cordless | 12 volts | Lithium-ion |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Drive | 20 volts | Lithium-ion |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill S | 20 volts | Lithium-ion |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo Kit, 10 Tool Cordless Set with 2 Batteries, Charger, and Bags
This kit is the broadest starting point here: 10 cordless tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, and other jobsite tasks, while two batteries and two contractor bags help keep the setup portable. Compared with the DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit, it brings more tool types into one purchase, which suits crews or serious renovators who would otherwise build out a collection piece by piece. The tradeoff is practical: a 10-tool loadout takes more room to store and carry, and the supplied information does not identify each tool or give battery capacity, so buyers cannot judge runtime by tool. Its listed 531 in-lb torque and 1,500 rpm maximum speed provide some drill context, but this is a breadth-first kit, not a compact drill-and-driver pairing.
Pros:- Ten tools cover a wider range of tasks than the two-tool CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX drill and impact driver set.
- Includes two batteries and a charger for keeping work moving between battery changes.
- Two contractor bags provide storage and transport for the kit.
- Works with DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and chargers.
Cons:- The full set is heavy and takes more storage space than a focused drill-and-driver kit.
- The product details do not identify all 10 tools, making it harder to evaluate the exact task coverage.
- Battery capacity is not specified, limiting runtime comparisons.
Best for: Home renovators and jobsite users who need a wide range of cordless tools and already have room to store a large kit.
Not ideal for: Buyers who mainly need a drill and impact driver, want a compact carry setup, or need clear battery-capacity details before choosing.
- Battery platform:DEWALT 20V MAX
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Number of batteries:2
- Number of tools:10
- Listed torque:531 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:1,500 rpm
- Included storage:2 contractor bags
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT kit when tool variety matters more than a light, drill-focused setup.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, 2 Batteries, Charger
For buyers who want two complementary tools rather than a large assortment, this CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX drill-and-impact-driver set puts the emphasis on fastening capacity. The listed impact-driver torque is 1,460 in-lb, and the kit includes two 2Ah batteries, a charger, bits, and a storage bag. That makes it a more focused alternative to the 10-tool DEWALT 20V MAX kit: less task variety, but a simpler loadout for drilling and driving. The product data lists a 2,800 rpm figure for the drill and a separate 1,500 rpm drill speed, so buyers should confirm which speed specification applies to the task they have in mind. Two 2Ah batteries are convenient to swap, though sustained demanding work may call for more capacity.
Pros:- Drill and impact driver provide a focused pairing for holes and demanding fastening.
- Includes two 2Ah batteries, a charger, bits, and a storage bag.
- Impact driver is listed at 1,460 in-lb torque.
- LED lights can help when working in dim or confined spaces.
Cons:- The 2Ah battery capacity may require frequent changes during extended heavy-duty work.
- The kit includes only two tools, unlike the broader Greenworks six- and eight-tool sets.
- The listed drill speed figures differ, leaving the exact speed range unclear from the supplied details.
Best for: DIYers and tradespeople who primarily drill and drive fasteners and want two batteries in a compact V20-platform kit.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need saws or other specialty tools in the same kit, or who expect long stretches of heavy work without battery changes.
- Battery platform:CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Number of batteries:2
- Battery capacity:2 Ah
- Impact driver torque:1,460 in-lb
- Drill speed:1,500 rpm listed; 2,800 rpm also listed in product description
- Included components:Drill/driver, impact driver, charger, storage bag, bits
Our verdict“Pick this set for a two-tool V20 setup focused on drilling and high-torque fastening, not a whole-shop tool collection.”
Greenworks 24V (6-Tool) Combo Kit with Batteries and Charger
The Greenworks six-tool kit takes a middle path between a simple drill-and-driver pair and the brand’s larger eight-tool set. Its lineup includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight, covering common repair and renovation jobs without adding the jigsaw and sander found in the eight-tool version. The 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah batteries give buyers two stated capacity options, and a 65W rapid charger helps reduce time out of service. A 12,000mAh USB-C power bank adds device charging, while compatibility with over 150 Greenworks tools gives the battery platform room to grow. Compared with the DEWALT 10-tool kit, this is a smaller, named tool selection; the tradeoff is less breadth and limited runtime information for demanding use.
Pros:- Six named tools span drilling, fastening, sawing, and multi-tool tasks.
- Includes both 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah batteries.
- 65W rapid charger and a 12,000mAh USB-C power bank add charging flexibility.
- Battery compatibility with over 150 Greenworks tools supports later expansion.
Cons:- The six-tool lineup omits the jigsaw and sander included in the Greenworks eight-tool kit.
- Battery capacity may be limiting during long, demanding sessions.
- The product details do not specify individual tool speeds or torque for direct performance comparisons.
Best for: DIY renovators who want core cutting, drilling, and fastening tools in one kit without stepping up to an eight-tool collection.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a jigsaw or sander included, or who expect extended heavy-duty work from the stated battery capacities.
- Battery platform:Greenworks 24V
- Included tools:Drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, flashlight
- Battery capacities:2.0Ah and 4.0Ah
- Charger:65W rapid charger
- Power bank:12,000mAh USB-C
- Battery compatibility:Over 150 Greenworks tools
- Motor type:Brushless motors
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this kit for a defined set of core renovation tools and a smaller lineup than Greenworks’ eight-tool package.”
Greenworks 24V Cordless Brushless Drill/Impact Driver Combo Kit
This Greenworks kit is the most focused pick in the batch: a 1/2-inch drill/driver and 1/4-inch impact driver cover everyday drilling and fastening without the storage demands of the multi-tool sets. The drill’s two speed ranges, up to 2,000 rpm, offer more control across different jobs, while the impact driver’s listed 1,950 in-lb torque is aimed at tougher fasteners. At 4.7 lb, the pair is positioned as a manageable option for overhead or repeated use, and the brushless motors plus USB-C charging add practical platform features. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX set, this Greenworks kit offers a stated lighter weight and higher listed impact torque, but uses a different battery platform. Its 2.0Ah batteries may still call for swaps on extended heavy work.
Pros:- Drill and impact driver provide the core pairing for common holes and fasteners.
- Brushless motors and two drill speed ranges support controlled, efficient work.
- Listed 4.7 lb weight favors a more manageable setup than a large multi-tool kit.
- 65W USB-C fast charger and power-bank function add charging flexibility.
Cons:- The 2.0Ah battery capacity may require more frequent changes during sustained work.
- The two-tool package lacks the cutting and sanding tools included in the Greenworks six-tool kit.
- May not suit very heavy industrial tasks despite the listed impact torque.
Best for: DIYers and light-duty professionals who want a compact, brushless drill-and-impact-driver pair for regular fastening and drilling.
Not ideal for: Buyers doing prolonged heavy-duty work who need more battery capacity, or those already invested in another battery platform.
- Battery platform:Greenworks 24V
- Drill/driver chuck:1/2 inch
- Impact driver chuck:1/4 inch
- Drill/driver torque:400 in-lb
- Impact driver torque:1,950 in-lb
- Drill/driver speed:0–450 / 0–2,000 rpm
- Impact driver speed:3,400 rpm
- Weight:4.7 lb
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this Greenworks pair when compact drilling and fastening matter more than a broad set of specialty tools.”
Greenworks 24V (8-Tool) Combo Kit with Batteries and Charger
When a buyer wants the widest named Greenworks lineup in this group, the eight-tool kit adds a jigsaw and sander to the drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. That broader mix makes it a stronger workshop buildout than the six-tool Greenworks kit, particularly for woodworking projects that involve both cutting and surface finishing. The listed 4.0Ah battery plus two 2.0Ah batteries provide more capacity options than the two-tool Greenworks drill-and-driver kit, and the 65W charger supports faster charging. This much coverage comes with a larger, heavier collection, and the 24V platform will not serve buyers committed to higher-voltage tools. Check the tool-specific details for demanding work; the supplied specs give select cutting figures, not performance data for every tool.
Pros:- Eight tools include both a jigsaw and sander, unlike the Greenworks six-tool kit.
- Includes a 4.0Ah battery and two 2.0Ah batteries for different tool demands.
- 65W charger supports faster charging.
- Listed cutting and sanding figures help buyers match the kit to workshop tasks.
Cons:- Eight tools create a bulkier, heavier setup than a focused drill-and-driver pair.
- The 24V battery system is not compatible with higher-voltage tools.
- Battery runtime varies by tool and workload, and the supplied data does not give runtimes.
Best for: DIY workshop owners and renovators who want drilling, cutting, sanding, and multi-tool capability from one battery platform.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need only a drill and impact driver, prioritize a light carry kit, or require compatibility with a higher-voltage platform.
- Battery platform:Greenworks 24V
- Number of tools:8
- Included tools:Drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, jigsaw, multi-tool, sander, flashlight
- Battery capacities:4.0Ah and two 2.0Ah batteries
- Charger power:65W
- Maximum cutting depth:2-1/4 inches
- Circular saw speed:4,800 rpm
- Jigsaw stroke:1 inch
- Sander speed:11,000 OPM
Our verdict“Pick this kit for a broad Greenworks workshop setup, especially if you will use the included jigsaw and sander.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Power Tools Combo Kit (DCK540D1)
I’d choose this kit when a drill-and-driver pair is only the start of the tool list. Alongside those two essentials, it includes a reciprocating saw, circular saw, and oscillating tool, making it more useful for remodeling and repair work than the two-tool DEWALT DCK240C2. That range can reduce the need to buy separate tools for common cutting and trimming tasks. The tradeoff is a heavier, less focused package: at 21.4 pounds as listed, it is a lot to carry around for jobs that mainly involve fastening. The data also conflicts on battery capacity, describing a 5Ah battery in the overview but listing a 2Ah battery in the included components, and only one battery is listed. I’d verify the bundle contents before relying on extended runtime.
Pros:- Five included tools cover drilling, fastening, sawing, and detail cutting
- 20V MAX lithium-ion platform suits a range of general construction and home projects
- Includes a charger and battery
- Broader task coverage than the two-tool DEWALT DCK240C2 kit
Cons:- Listed 21.4-pound weight makes the full kit less convenient to carry between tasks
- Only one battery is listed, limiting ready-to-use backup capacity
- Battery capacity is inconsistent between the description and included-components data
Best for: Remodelers and property-maintenance crews who need drilling, fastening, and several common cutting tools in one kit.
Not ideal for: DIYers who mainly need a drill and impact driver, or buyers who need a clearly specified multi-battery setup for long work sessions.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries listed:1
- Torque:1500 in-lb
- Item weight:21.4 pounds
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool
- Other included components:Battery and charger
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you need several types of cordless tools for remodeling, but confirm the battery configuration and skip it if drilling and fastening are your main jobs.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
This is the straightforward choice for buyers who want the two tools most often used together: a drill/driver for holes and controlled screwdriving, plus an impact driver for fastening. Its compact design, LED work lights, and included bag suit installation work and repairs where moving around matters more than having saws in the kit. Compared with the DEWALT DCK540D1, it gives up cutting tools but is a simpler, more portable drilling-and-fastening setup. The two included batteries make it easier to keep working while one charges, though their listed 1.3Ah capacity is modest for sustained heavy use. I’d favor this over the 12V XTREME kit when staying on the 20V platform matters, but skip it if long runtime or hammer-drilling capability is a priority.
Pros:- Drill/driver and impact driver cover common drilling and fastening tasks
- Two included batteries allow a charged spare to be ready
- Compact, lightweight design and storage bag aid portability
- LED work lights help illuminate dim work areas
Cons:- Listed 1.3Ah batteries offer limited capacity for sustained heavy work
- Two-tool selection does not cover cutting tasks like the DEWALT DCK540D1
- No hammer-drill function is listed
Best for: Home repairers, installers, and DIYers who want a portable 20V drill-and-impact-driver pair for frequent fastening and drilling.
Not ideal for: Users tackling long, demanding work sessions or buyers who need a hammer drill or additional cutting tools in the same kit.
- Model:DCK240C2
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Battery capacity:1.3Ah
- Weight:3.6 lbs
- Torque:1700 in-lb
- Included components:Drill/driver, impact driver, batteries, charger, bag
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick the DCK240C2 for a portable 20V drill-and-driver kit with two batteries, but look elsewhere for longer runtime or broader tool coverage.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver (DCK277D2)
I’d put the DCK277D2 ahead of the DCK240C2 for buyers who want a brushless drill-and-driver combination and a pair of 2.0Ah batteries. That battery capacity is higher than the 1.3Ah units listed for the DCK240C2, giving this kit a better starting point for repeated jobs without stepping up to the larger, heavier DEWALT 20V MAX XR hammer drill kit. It includes a charger and contractor bag, keeping the package ready for transport. The main compromise is that its two-tool lineup stays focused on drilling and fastening; the five-tool DCK540D1 is a better match for remodeling tasks that also involve cutting. Battery capacity may still fall short during prolonged heavy work, and the listed components do not include bits or other accessories.
Pros:- Brushless drill/driver and impact driver form a focused everyday pairing
- Two 2.0Ah batteries provide a useful spare and more capacity per battery than the DCK240C2 listing
- Charger and contractor bag are included
- Listed 2800 rpm maximum speed supports fast drilling
Cons:- Two-tool kit lacks the saws and oscillating tool included with the DEWALT DCK540D1
- 2.0Ah batteries may need frequent changes during prolonged heavy work
- No bits or extra accessories are listed
Best for: DIYers and tradespeople who want a brushless 20V drill-and-impact-driver pair with two 2.0Ah batteries for regular installation and repair work.
Not ideal for: People who need a hammer drill, cutting tools, or higher-capacity batteries for extended heavy-duty jobs.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Number of batteries:2
- Included battery capacity:2.0Ah each
- Torque:1500 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:2800 rpm
- Included components:DCD777 drill/driver, DCF787 impact driver, batteries, charger, contractor bag
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the DCK277D2 for a brushless 20V drill-and-driver setup with two 2.0Ah batteries, but choose a larger kit for hammer drilling or extended heavy work.”
DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill Combo Kit (DCK221F2)
For close-quarters work, the XTREME kit’s main appeal is its 12V compact format: a drill/driver and impact driver are easier to handle in tight cabinets and overhead spaces than a larger 20V setup. Its brushless motors and listed 1450 in-lb torque make it more capable than a casual-use mini tool pairing, while the 1.9-pound weight favors control during repeated positioning. Compared with the 20V DCK240C2, this kit prioritizes size over platform voltage and the supplied product data lists only one battery. That creates a real runtime tradeoff, especially for demanding work. The battery count is also inconsistent with the description, which refers to both tools but does not clearly confirm two batteries. I’d choose it for portability, not as my first pick for prolonged heavy-duty jobs.
Pros:- Compact 12V format suits tight spaces and overhead work
- Brushless motors are designed for improved runtime and durability
- Drill/driver and impact driver cover both hole-making and fastening
- Listed 1.9-pound weight supports easier handling
Cons:- 12V platform is less suited to sustained heavy-duty applications than the 20V kits
- Only one battery is listed, despite the description referring to both tools
- Battery capacity and included charger are not specified in the provided data
Best for: Cabinet installers, furniture assemblers, and homeowners who value a light, compact drill-and-impact-driver pair for precision work.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople doing extended heavy fastening or drilling who want a clearly specified spare battery and the broader 20V lineup.
- Voltage:12 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries listed:1
- Battery capacity:2 amp-hours
- Torque:1450 in-lb
- Item weight:1.9 pounds
- Tools described:Brushless drill/driver and impact driver
Our verdict“Choose the XTREME kit when compact handling matters most, but favor a 20V option for heavy work or a clearly documented two-battery setup.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit, Includes 2 x 4ah Batteries and Charger
This is the strongest fit here for demanding drilling and fastening because it pairs a hammer drill with an impact driver and includes two 4Ah batteries. The hammer function expands its usefulness for masonry drilling compared with the standard drill/driver sets, while the larger batteries suit longer work sessions better than the 2.0Ah packs listed with the DCK277D2. Its listed 1825 in-lb torque and 3400 rpm maximum speed also mark it out as the more performance-focused two-tool kit in this group. That capability comes with a portability cost: the listed kit weight is 4.84 kg, and no carrying case is included. I’d choose it over the compact DEWALT XTREME 12V kit for demanding jobs, but it is more tool and battery capacity than occasional light repairs require.
Pros:- Hammer drill adds masonry-drilling capability absent from the standard drill/driver kits
- Two 4Ah batteries provide more capacity per pack than the batteries listed with the DCK277D2
- Listed 1825 in-lb torque suits demanding fastening work
- Listed maximum speed of 3400 rpm supports fast drilling and driving
Cons:- Listed 4.84 kg weight is less convenient for frequent carrying and overhead tasks
- No carrying case is included in the provided data
- Higher-capacity, performance-oriented setup may be excessive for occasional light repairs
Best for: Contractors and experienced DIYers who regularly drill masonry and drive fasteners and want two higher-capacity batteries in the kit.
Not ideal for: Occasional users who prioritize a light, compact kit, or buyers who need a carrying case included.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Number of batteries:2
- Battery capacity:4Ah each
- Torque:1825 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:3400 rpm
- Item weight:4.84 kg
- Included tools:20V MAX XR hammer drill and impact driver
- Other included components:Charger
Our verdict“Choose this kit for demanding drilling, including masonry, and longer work sessions; choose a lighter two-tool set if portability matters more.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Set and Impact Driver with 2Ah Battery and Charger
This CRAFTSMAN kit pairs a 1/2-inch drill/driver with an impact driver rated at 1,800 in-lb of torque, making it a practical two-tool setup for household drilling and fastening. Its standout distinction is VersaTrack compatibility, which gives buyers a way to organize the tools alongside compatible storage rather than treating the included bag as the only option. The listed drill output of up to 90 holes per charge also points to a kit aimed at routine tasks, not sustained jobsite use.
Compared with the CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX kit with two batteries, this set includes only one 2Ah battery, so long work sessions may require pauses for charging. The single battery keeps the package focused, but buyers who regularly alternate between drilling and driving may prefer a two-battery kit. Choose this one for basic projects and organized storage; skip it if extended runtime matters more than VersaTrack compatibility.
Pros:- Includes both a 1/2-inch drill/driver and an impact driver for drilling and fastening.
- Impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lb of torque for demanding fastening tasks.
- VersaTrack compatibility supports organized storage with compatible accessories.
- Includes a 2Ah battery, charger, storage bag, and two screwdriver bits.
Cons:- Only one battery is included, limiting work time between charging breaks.
- The 2Ah battery may be a constraint during heavy or extended use.
- The provided information does not specify additional battery options or compatibility details.
Best for: Homeowners and DIYers who need a drill and impact driver for occasional repairs or small projects and want VersaTrack-compatible storage.
Not ideal for: Frequent users or people tackling long projects who need a spare battery ready while the other charges.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:1
- Included battery capacity:2Ah
- Drill maximum rotational speed:1,700 rpm
- Impact driver torque:1,800 in-lb
- Item weight:7.4 pounds
- Included components:Charger, double-sided bit tip, PH #2 screwdriver bit, storage bag
- Storage compatibility:VersaTrack compatible
Our verdict“Choose this kit for occasional drilling and fastening with VersaTrack-friendly organization, but opt for the two-battery CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX kit if runtime is your priority.”

How We Picked
I compared these cordless drill combo kits by how well their tool mix fits common buyer needs: routine home repairs, DIY projects, and more demanding work. I looked at the distinction between two-tool drill-and-impact sets and larger bundles, the stated battery configuration, platform and brushless or hammer-drill features where named, and the likely burden of storing and maintaining tools a buyer may not use.
The ranking favors useful coverage and clear buyer fit over the biggest tool count. That puts the DEWALT 5-tool kit ahead of the broader 10-tool set as a more balanced starting point, while compact and two-tool kits rank well for buyers who value simplicity over breadth. The Greenworks 6- and 8-tool kits offer more variety, but their place depends on whether a buyer can put those extra tools to work. I also distinguish the premium XR hammer-drill kit by its named performance-oriented features and larger batteries, rather than treating every bundle as interchangeable.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Cordless Drill Combo Kits
Before choosing a cordless drill combo kit, I’d start with the work you expect to do and the tool platform you want to own. A kit can look like a bargain on tool count but be a poor fit if it includes equipment you won’t use or batteries that don’t suit your workload.
Choose the Tool Mix Before Counting Tools
Make a short list of jobs you expect to handle in the next year, then match tools to those tasks. A drill and impact driver pair covers many fastening and drilling jobs, while larger kits can add useful capabilities for varied projects. Extra tools only add value when they replace a purchase you would otherwise make. A frequent mistake is choosing by the largest number on the box without checking what each tool does. I’d favor a focused pair for occasional repairs and a broader bundle for a planned renovation or varied ongoing projects. Check the included tool names against your task list before buying.
Think About Battery Capacity and Work Rhythm
Battery capacity affects how long a pack can support work between charges, but a higher-capacity pack may also add size and weight. For short household jobs, having two batteries can be more useful than carrying the largest pack, since one can charge while the other is in use. For longer work sessions, battery capacity and access to compatible spare packs matter more. Compare the battery details stated for each kit rather than assuming that two packs have the same runtime. Also check whether the charger is included and whether it supports the pace of your work. Buying a kit with a platform you can build on may matter more than a small difference in the included accessories.
Match Voltage and Size to the Work
Voltage labels help distinguish platforms, but they do not tell the full story of how a tool will feel in hand or perform on a specific task. A compact 12V kit can be appealing for overhead work, tight spaces, and lighter jobs where a smaller tool is easier to control. A 20V or 24V platform may suit buyers who want a wider family of tools or expect more varied work. Don’t choose a larger platform just for the number: consider weight, grip, balance, and how often you’ll carry the tools. If possible, check the bare-tool dimensions and weight before committing to a whole kit. The best fit is the platform that matches both the work and your willingness to handle and store it.
Know When a Hammer Drill or Brushless Model Matters
A hammer-drill mode can help when drilling into masonry, but it is not a replacement for a dedicated masonry tool on extensive concrete work. If your projects are mostly wood, metal, furniture, or standard household fastening, a conventional drill may cover your needs. Brushless motors can be a useful feature for buyers who expect regular use and want a tool designed around efficient motor operation, but the label alone should not decide the purchase. Compare the whole kit, including batteries and the other included tools, rather than paying extra for a feature you rarely need. A common mistake is buying a specialized drill while overlooking whether the kit has the right driver or battery setup. Let the materials and frequency of your work guide this choice.
Plan for Storage, Maintenance, and Platform Growth
A larger kit needs more room, and every additional tool brings another item to store, keep charged, and maintain. Before choosing an expanded bundle, decide where the tools will live and whether the supplied bags or cases suit your workspace. Think about the next tools you might buy, too: staying within a compatible battery family can simplify charging and reduce the number of battery types you keep. Confirm platform compatibility rather than assuming that similar voltage labels mean packs interchange. If you are new to cordless tools, a smaller kit can make it easier to learn what you actually use before expanding. Buyers with an established battery collection may prefer a tool-only option, but these listed kits include batteries or charging equipment as specified in their names.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a two-tool kit or a larger cordless drill combo kit?
I’d choose a two-tool kit if drilling and fastening cover most of your jobs and you value a simpler setup. A larger kit can make sense when its added tools match projects you already expect to tackle, such as a renovation or repeated maintenance work. Compare the exact tools rather than treating a higher count as a better deal. Extra equipment brings more storage needs and may not improve your day-to-day work if it stays unused. The DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN two-tool options in this roundup suit focused buyers, while the Greenworks and larger DEWALT bundles offer broader tool mixes.
Is a 12V kit enough for home repairs, or should I choose 20V or 24V?
A compact 12V kit can suit many routine household tasks, particularly where access and control matter more than sustained heavy work. A 20V or 24V kit may be a better fit if you expect tougher jobs or want to build a larger collection on that platform. Don’t decide from voltage alone: tool design, battery capacity, and the materials you work with affect the result. If your tasks are occasional and light, a smaller platform may keep the kit easier to handle. For regular project work, compare the broader tool lineup available on the platform you plan to keep.
Do I need a hammer drill for drilling into brick or concrete?
A hammer-drill feature can help with occasional holes in masonry, so it is useful if that work is part of your plans. It does not make every drill combo kit suitable for sustained or demanding concrete drilling. For repeated masonry work, compare the drill’s stated capabilities with the material and hole sizes you need, and consider whether a dedicated masonry tool is a better match. If your work is mostly wood, metal, or household assembly, hammer mode may add little value. I’d treat it as a job-specific feature, not a reason on its own to choose a kit.
What should I check about batteries before buying a combo kit?
Check how many batteries are included, their stated capacity, the charger, and which tools share that battery platform. The kits in this roundup do not all name battery capacity in the same way, so avoid assuming that two included packs provide equal runtime. Consider whether you will work in short bursts or for longer sessions, since that changes how useful a spare battery is. If you plan to add tools later, compatibility across the brand’s platform can reduce the need for separate packs and chargers. Read the complete kit contents before ordering so you know what is included rather than relying on the product title alone.
Is the DEWALT XR hammer-drill kit worth choosing over a standard drill-and-impact set?
It may suit buyers who expect to use hammer-drill capability and value the kit’s stated two 4Ah batteries. A standard drill-and-impact set is likely a better match if most work involves common fastening and drilling tasks and you do not need the extra specialization. Compare the full tool mix, battery needs, and intended materials instead of treating XR branding as an automatic upgrade. The DEWALT DCK240C2 and DCK277D2 provide simpler two-tool alternatives, while the XR kit targets a more demanding use case. Choose it when its features solve a real task for you, not just because the feature list is longer.
Conclusion
For most buyers seeking a capable mix without the largest bundle, I recommend the DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Kit as best overall. My best value pick is the CRAFTSMAN V20 drill-and-impact kit for buyers who want a focused two-tool setup, while the DEWALT XR hammer-drill kit is my best premium choice for tougher, more varied work and its included 4Ah batteries. Beginners who want a straightforward starting point can choose a two-tool kit such as the DEWALT DCK240C2 and expand only when a project calls for it. For compact work, the DEWALT XTREME 12V kit is the most tailored option; for buyers who need a wider set of tools, compare the Greenworks 6- and 8-tool kits against the actual jobs on your list. The right choice is the kit whose tools, batteries, and size fit your work—not simply the one with the most pieces.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














