AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: What Role Do OpenAI Models Play In Retell’s 100M Monthly Calls? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify when the count was measured, how calls are counted, which models are used, or what share of calls involve them.

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models, a reported usage figure that points to substantial activity but does not establish how many calls were completed or what role the models play. The available announcement gives no measurement period, call-counting method, model names, or breakdown of how much platform activity uses OpenAI.

The announcement links Retell’s voice AI service with OpenAI models and gives a monthly volume of 100 million calls. It does not clarify whether this means calls attempted, calls answered, completed conversations, or another measure of activity. It also does not say whether the total includes inbound calls, outbound calls, repeat attempts, or a mix.

Retell has not identified the specific OpenAI models involved or described which tasks they perform during a call. The details available do not quantify the proportion of calls that use OpenAI models, name customers, divide activity by use case, or provide a comparison with an earlier period. The 100 million figure is a reported monthly count, not a disclosed measure of unique users, revenue, successful outcomes, or growth.

No figures are provided for accuracy, response time, call completion, pricing, or customer results, and the announcement details do not explain whether the total was independently verified. Those gaps limit what readers can infer from the headline number: it establishes Retell’s stated scale, but not the quality or business impact of the service.

At a glance
reportWhen: Reported in an announcement with no mea…
The developmentRetell reports 100 million monthly calls on its voice AI platform and says OpenAI models help power the service.
At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced; the date and measurement per…
The developmentRetell says OpenAI models help power a voice AI service that handles 100 million calls monthly.

What 100 Million Calls Can Show

A monthly call figure at this scale is relevant to companies weighing automated voice services and to providers supplying the models used in those systems. If the count represents completed customer conversations during a defined period, it could indicate meaningful operational use of Retell’s platform. The announcement, however, does not establish that interpretation.

Without a clear counting method and performance measures, the number cannot show how many people are served, whether conversations reach a useful outcome, or whether automation lowers costs or improves service. It also cannot be compared reliably with other platforms unless they measure calls in the same way. For readers, the key distinction is between reported activity and evidence of service performance: the announcement supplies the former, not the latter.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Retell’s OpenAI-Powered Service

Retell offers a voice AI platform for phone-based interactions, and the announcement says OpenAI models help power that service. Voice AI systems can use models as part of spoken exchanges, but the information available does not describe Retell’s technical arrangement or identify where OpenAI models fit into it.

The call total is presented without a dated baseline or earlier figure. It therefore does not establish that usage is rising, nor does it show how the platform’s activity has changed over time. No customer list or use-case breakdown is provided, so the announcement offers little detail about who is using the service or for what kinds of calls.

“Its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.”

— Retell

How Retell Counts Its Calls

The measurement period for the 100 million figure is not specified, and it is unclear whether the count covers attempts, answered calls, completed conversations, or another unit. The announcement does not say whether inbound and outbound calls are both included or how repeat attempts are treated.

The identity and function of the OpenAI models remain undisclosed in the available details, as does the share of Retell’s calls that use them. There is also no published information here about call quality, latency, customer outcomes, costs, or independent verification. Without those details, readers cannot assess performance or make a like-for-like comparison with another service.

Details Needed to Assess Scale

Retell could make the claim easier to evaluate by specifying when the count was measured, defining what qualifies as a call, and stating whether the total includes attempts or only completed interactions. Naming the models and explaining their functions would clarify what “help from OpenAI models” means in practice.

The announcement provides no next milestone or disclosure timeline. Until further details are available, the 100 million monthly calls figure should be read as Retell’s reported volume, not as a verified measure of completed conversations, growth, or customer outcomes.

Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Key Questions

What did Retell report?

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement details available do not provide a measurement date or define what counts as a call.

Which OpenAI models does Retell use?

The available announcement does not name the specific OpenAI models or describe what tasks they perform during calls.

Does 100 million mean completed calls?

That is not specified. The count could refer to completed calls, attempts, or another measure of platform activity; the announcement does not define it.

Does the figure show that Retell is growing?

No growth rate can be established from the figure alone. Retell provides no earlier count or comparison baseline in the available announcement details.

Can the number show how well the service performs?

No. The announcement does not include call completion, accuracy, latency, or customer outcome data, so the reported volume does not by itself measure service quality.

Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Nemotron 3.5 Super VL Takes Less Than A Second Per Task

NVIDIA’s Nemotron 3.5 Super VL scored 26 on Artificial Analysis and costs $0.25 per index task, but competing models score higher for similar or less.

Opus, Sol, Jev: Three Roles In My September 2026 AI Stack

With six frontier models within 20 index points but 100x apart in cost, one developer assigns Opus 5.5 to build and GPT-6.1 Sol to review.

4 Best AI Laptops For Creators Making Videos And Other Content

A comparison of four Windows laptops for creators, including three NIMO models and a Dell, with key limits in graphics and display data.

A Statistical Reality Check On OpenAI’s EU Agentic AI Claim

OpenAI says agents generated 55% of output tokens in its EU business accounts, but the figure does not measure tasks, users or business value.