AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro’s New Limits And What They Mean For Subscribers on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI cancelled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro tier and increased Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match those on the higher one; other limits, including some Pro chat limits and Plus usage, remain unchanged.

OpenAI cancelled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers, the company said in release notes on October 29. Existing subscribers receive the revised allowances automatically, without waiting for renewal, but the update does not double every limit across every plan.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company also cancelled a reduction to the $200-a-month Pro 200 plan that had been announced in September. According to OpenAI’s updated help page, subscribers on Pro 200’s lower allowance now receive twice as much, matching subscribers who already had the higher allowance; those already receiving the higher amount keep it.

Work and Codex share an allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information. Work covers longer jobs such as research, documents and multi-step tasks, while Codex is the company’s coding agent. The change increases that shared pool. It does not automatically change other ChatGPT limits: OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits for Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain the same.

For Pro 200, OpenAI says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one. Ultrafast remains exclusive to Pro 500. Business Premium seats also receive more Work and Codex usage, but OpenAI’s release note does not state a multiplier. Prices were not changed, and the company says subscribers do not need to take action to receive the updated allowance.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; the updated…
The developmentOpenAI revised its ChatGPT usage plans on October 29, cancelling a planned Pro 200 reduction and increasing Work and Codex allowances for several paid tiers.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How the Changes Affect Each Tier

The update matters because subscribers make decisions based on what a plan permits them to do, not just its monthly price. For Pro 200 customers, OpenAI’s reversal means the reduction scheduled for October 30 will not take effect. For Pro 100 and Pro 500 customers, the enlarged Work and Codex pool could allow more use of those tools before reaching an allowance limit.

That does not mean every subscriber will get twice as much practical work done. OpenAI says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. A larger allowance is a change in permitted usage, not a guarantee of a particular number of projects, messages or completed coding tasks. The company has not published a universal conversion between the allowance and work completed.

For organizations, the Business Premium increase may affect how teams allocate paid seats, but the published note does not give a numerical amount. Companies should distinguish these plan allowances from API budgets, which are separate, and check their own usage before changing seat mixes. Individual subscribers considering a more expensive tier likewise need to compare their actual usage with the plan’s terms rather than assume every limit has doubled.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Ultra Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones with Spatial Audio, Black

Bose QuietComfort Ultra Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones with Spatial Audio, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Sandstone

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Sandstone

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut

The change follows a series of adjustments to OpenAI’s paid plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux, who posts as Tibo, linked the move to strong demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced the $500-a-month Pro 500 tier.

In a September 29 message about allowance changes, OpenAI said affected users would receive more information while the Pro 200 monthly price remained $200. Tibo described the plan scale in a post as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, adding that existing subscribers would retain a 20X multiplier for a time and receive additional credits. The planned October 30 reduction prompted the later reversal.

OpenAI’s October 29 release note is narrower than some public descriptions of the change. Tibo wrote that the company was doubling “all usage limits” across Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium. However, OpenAI’s help page specifies which limits changed and says some Pro chat limits did not. This article follows the plan-specific details in the company’s release notes and help page where the descriptions differ.

“We heard your kind feedback.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo

Limits OpenAI Has Not Quantified

OpenAI’s release notes say Business Premium usage is increasing but do not give a figure. Tibo described that increase as a doubling, but the company’s plan-specific documentation does not confirm a multiplier. The size of the Business Premium increase is therefore not clear from the official release note.

OpenAI also has not translated the Work and Codex allowances into a fixed number of tasks or hours. Usage can vary by model, task and speed mode, according to the company. The change is clear as an allowance increase, but its practical value will differ among subscribers.

The October 29 notes do not announce changes for Business Standard, Go or Free. Their omission does not establish whether those plans might change later. OpenAI’s detailed help page should be checked for plan-specific limits, particularly where broad social-media wording appears to conflict with its stated terms.

What Subscribers Should Check

The revised allowances are effective immediately, and OpenAI says existing subscribers receive them automatically rather than at their next billing date. Subscribers should check their account’s usage page and plan details to see the allowance that applies to them. No additional announcement or date for another change was included in the October 29 release notes.

For businesses, the next practical step is to review Business Premium seat use and confirm how the revised allowance fits team needs. For individuals, the relevant distinction is whether their work depends on Work and Codex or on other limits that did not change. Prices remain unchanged, but OpenAI has not said how long these allowance levels will remain in place.

Key Questions

Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT Pro limit?

No. OpenAI says Work and Codex allowances doubled on Pro 100 and Pro 500, while some weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits remain unchanged. Pro 200’s lower allowance rose to match its higher allowance.

What changed for Pro 200 subscribers?

OpenAI cancelled the planned reduction. Subscribers on the lower allowance now receive twice as much and match those who already had the higher allowance. Those already on the higher allowance keep it.

Do current subscribers need to do anything?

No. OpenAI says the updated allowances apply to existing subscribers automatically, without waiting for renewal.

Did the plans become more expensive?

No price change was announced. The listed monthly prices remain $100 for Pro 100, $200 for Pro 200 and $500 for Pro 500. Business Premium is listed at $100 per user monthly when billed annually or $125 monthly.

How much more usage does Business Premium get?

OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing but its release note gives no numerical amount. Tibo described the increase as a doubling, but that figure is not stated in the official note.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

AI SRE: What Is It, How Could It Change On-call – And Does It Work?

AI SRE tools are gaining traction as pages rise, but current systems mainly investigate and triage incidents, not autonomously fix production.

Hardcore IndieWeb: Run Your Own Website 100% Independently For Only $0.01/Day

A new service enables individuals to run their own websites independently for just $0.01 daily, promoting fully decentralized online presence.

Compare 10 Gaming Motherboards For Performance And Value In 2027

A source-based comparison of 10 gaming motherboards weighs platform, connectivity, cooling and price—while noting missing model-specific test data.

10 Best Mobile Workstation Laptops To Consider For AI Work In 2027

A product roundup lists 10 mobile workstation configurations for AI-related work, but provides no 2027 benchmarks or confirmed AI performance data.